30 April 2013

Krewcial - Live Guy With Glasses

I don't know much about European rap, but I do know that Krewcial is really dope. I first heard Krewcial on I'll See Yah from the Mystik Journeymen's - Children Ov Tha Night album. After hearing his verse I checked for some of his old tapes. I wasn't able to find any of them but a few years later I did track down this album. From the first track I was hooked and to this day this album still gets play in the walkman.....errr uh tape deck....errrr MPEG audio layer 3 playing device. Don't sleep on the guy with glasses from Gent.

If anyone has his old tapes I would love to check them out. 

24 April 2013

Mystik Journeymen - Pressed 4 Time

The other Mystik Journeymen tape that eluded me for years. Enjoy this classic Legends material and peep game on the super thug Meee over at Record Science posting up other heaters from the Legends crew.

19 April 2013

Mystik Journeymen - Walkman Invaders

As requested more of that early Mystik Journeymen flavor. Originally released in 1995 on cassette, this rip is from the remastered CD that was released in 2000 and features all the original tracks and a few bonus jams. Revenge, Revenge, Revenge.

14 April 2013

Mystik Journeymen - Children Ov Tha Night

It took me a long time to get my hands on this tape back in the day. Anytime I wanted to order from the Legends site it was out of stock. I was finally able to cop it at a show in Portland in 1998, also the same time I got my hands on Presses 4 Time. A group of us loaded up a Ford Probe and made the 8 hour drive to Portland for the show. We copped a hotel room a few blocks from the venue, hit up some of the local records shops and waited for the show. We had the pleasure of meeting The Cuf who were staying on our floor; and we made the rookie mistake of cooking Ramen noodles and hot dogs in the same pot of boiling water at the same time...you get resourceful when you're strapped for cash and time. 

This show was the first time I saw the Living Legends perform and it was also the only time I've seen Murs perform with the crew since the other shows I've seen since then have been in Canada and from what I understand Murs isn't a fan of Canadian Boarder security. 

The show was good, the Legends killed it, The Cuf were really dope and there was another crew who opened called The Toys In The Attic that were really dope. I copped their demo and I remember it being good, but I've since lost it and don't really know anything about the crew. If anyone has any info about this crew I'd appreciate it, I think they were from the North West area.

Back to the reason for this post, Children Ov Tha Night is one of my favorite Legends tapes and probably gets the most play to this day. This album was the first time I heard Krewcial rap and I've been a fan ever since...."Mystik Journeymen, in the place!!!"

**I just noticed that my track list is a bit screwed up, all the tracks are there, they're just out of order for some reason

8 April 2013

June22 - Elements0097

Shouts out to KaliYuga Pro for hooking this up a few years ago. This is a solid mix tape released in 1997 by June22. Here is the tracklist:

Side A:
1.  Moving Objects - Factsimile
2.  Mystik Journeymen - L.I.E.
3.  Homeliss Derelix - Operations
4.  Encore - Defined By The Dollar
5.  Rashinel
6.  The Grouch - Stuck
7.  Del - You're In Shambles
8.  Digital Underground - Future Rhythm
9.  Original 001
10. Original 002
11. Common - Nuthin' To Do
12. MF Doom - Gas Drawls
13. Black Moon - 6ft Deep
14. Swollen Members f/ Aceyalone - Consumption
15. Zaire Black - 1up
16. Original 003

Side B:
1.  I-Won - Shiloh
2.  Saukrates f/ OC & Masta Ace - Rollin Rmx
3.  Boogiemonsters - God Sound
4.  Buckshot - Follow Me
5.  Rasco - Hip Hop Essentials
6.  Break
7.  Lace Da Booms - Weak Shit
8.  Original 004
9.  Hiero Freestyle (beat by June22 & Xile)
10. Original 005
11. Saukrates f/ Common - Play Dis
12. The Roots - Push Up Ya Lighter
13. Grav - Sick Thoughts
14. Original 006
15. Rae Kwon - Criminology

2 April 2013

Homeliss Derelix - Fraudulent

As requested more of that Homeliss Derelix goodness. This album was re-issued in 2004 but as far as I know all the tracks were recorded in the early/mid 90's.